Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
UGENE Bulletin Board
  Welcome to our forum.
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
in silico PCR and cloning with Gibson Assembly (Read 14254 times)
Dec 6th, 2012 at 8:27pm

randolf   Offline
YaBB Newbies

Hi there,

I'm a litte biologist and want to use Ugene for modeling of lab sequence modification experiments. In this context, I have some questions.

Consider the following situation: I want to add restriction enzyme cut sites to a PCR fragment in the lab. For this purpose I have primers with overhangs. Is there a way to easily construct the resulting PCR sequence from template and primers with Ugene.

Another thing I wonder: I have overlapping PCR products (20 nucleotides overlap) and want to assemble them with Gibbson or Yeast assembly. This means they fuse at the overlaps. Can this be easily done with Ugene. I tried around with "DNA assambly" and "Align to reference", but this doesn't seem to work with fasta format and has another pupose anyway.

I have primers with non-annealing overhangs and I want to find the annealing positions on a sequence. At the moment I do this search with Smith-Waterman-algorithm and large gap panalty, but this is far from fast and efficient.

Hints will be greatly appreciated!
Regards,
Thomas

IP Logged

Reply #1 - Dec 7th, 2012 at 6:17am

Konstantin Okonechnikov   Offline
Global Moderator

hi Thomas!
Quote:
Consider the following situation: I want to add restriction enzyme cut sites to a PCR fragment in the lab. For this purpose I have primers with overhangs. Is there a way to easily construct the resulting PCR sequence from template and primers with Ugene.

The PCR design feature request, which is similar to what you've written, is currently under active development and will be available soon.

Meanwhile you can do the following: