Welcome to our forum.
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Problem with qt 4.5.2 (Read 9601 times)
Sep 8th, 2009 at 4:58pm

edoardo   Offline
YaBB Newbies

Hi,
I've recently installed the latest 1.5 version of Ugene on my Ubuntu 9.04 system. No problem with the installation but when I try to start the program I receive this error message: Executable 'UGENE' requires Qt 4.5.2 found Qt 4.5.1
So I went to qt official site (qt.nokia.com) and downloaded the latest 4.5.2 version of the package. Following the instruction on the site I've compiled and installed this new version and all seems to be fine, but the error message at Ugene start still there and I can't use the program. Since I'm quite new to linux system I think I've missed something during Qt installation.
How can I solve this problem? Is there something more to do to make Ugene recognise the new Qt package I've installed?
Thanks for all your suggestions!
Edoardo

IP Logged

Reply #1 - Sep 10th, 2009 at 3:37pm

Ivan Efremov   Offline
YaBB Administrator
Novosibirsk

Hi Eduardo,
This is a known issue - UGENE needs Qt which is not younger than Qt which was used for build process. In the next release we will workaround the issue.

For now, just try to add path to the new Qt binaries to LD_LIBRARY_PATH environment variable.
For example:

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.5.2/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

UGENE team
IP Logged

Reply #2 - Mar 18th, 2010 at 3:29pm

Samia   Offline
YaBB Newbies

hi, i am having problem with running ugene. i had the similar problem as above.  
Executable 'ugene' requires Qt 4.5.2, found Qt 4.5.0.
i tried that command in the above post. but it didn't work. can u please help me?????  Sad Cry Shocked

IP Logged

Reply #3 - Mar 18th, 2010 at 4:25pm

Mikhail Fursov   Offline
YaBB Administrator

Hi Samia,

Here some details about the problem in general: