Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
UGENE Bulletin Board
  Welcome to our forum.
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Problem mapping to reference (Sanger) (Read 12888 times)
Nov 8th, 2018 at 10:10pm

Julio   Offline
YaBB Newbies
Ecuador

Hi,

I'm new to UGene and the forum. I have looked before posting, but I haven't found any working solution  Sad. I'm trying to map some reads to a reference sequence using the tool "Map Sanger reads to reference".

My reference sequence is a fasta file made from the consensus sequence of a previous alignment. The sequences I'm trying to map are in a multifasta file. When I run the tool, it appears the following error:

Task report [Map Sanger reads to reference]

Status       Failed
Error:        Subtask {Compose alignment} is failed: The related                         
                 chromatogram not found
Time        0h 00m 32.595s

I dont have chromatograms to my reads because they are reads from databases (NCBI, BOLD, etc..)

Just in case this information is necessary, I'm running Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS in a virtual machine hosted in Windows 10. The Unipro UGENE version is v1.31.1.

Thanks!  Smiley

IP Logged

Reply #1 - Nov 9th, 2018 at 3:07pm

Olga Golosova   Offline
YaBB Administrator

Hi Julio.

Quote:
I have looked before posting, but I haven't found any working solution

Thank you for your feedback! Apparently, we should simplify this feature in UGENE and improve documentation.  Smiley

First of all, note that you shouldn't use "Map Sanger reads to reference" tool. It implies that you provide the Sanger reads in *.ab1 or similar format (see a video about this feature).

For your task there are a couple of workarounds you may try first. Please try them and write, if it works for you or not.

1) If you have a few sequences you would like to align to the reference sequence: