Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
UGENE Bulletin Board
  Welcome to our forum.
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Usefulness of Ugene for molecular biologists (Read 12698 times)
Mar 1st, 2014 at 2:42pm

randolf   Offline
YaBB Newbies

Hi to everyone,
I am a molecular biologist and have been useing Ugene for about 3 years now. My applications were mainly plasmid-based, like restriction analysis, molecular cloning, PCR, Gibbson Assembly.
I liked the open source philosophy of Ugene and although many things in Ugene are great, there are other basic things, which a molecular biologist needs, that are missing. I thougt that these problems would be solved with time and I therefor posted my suggestions here in the forum.
However these suggestions are more than a year old now and nothing has happend since. Mainly:
- If a sequence is circular or linear is a physical property of the sequence and should be attached to it like an attribute. This is the only way that makes sense in my opinion. In Ugene however, whether the sequence is circular or not has to be selected when a tool is applied to the sequence, like restriction analysis or restriction digestion. For other tools there is no such option at all. For example you can not select a subsequence from a plasmid that contains the start/end point. If you select from 4000 bp to 1000 bp in the "select sequence region" tool, nothing happens. Also there is no option for circular molecules in the basic search tool or the smith-waterman algorithm. So if the search pattern is in the sequence, but by chance contains the start/end point, it is not found. In my opinion this is simply abominable. Here are the links to the forum postes which I refer to:
http://ugene.unipro.ru/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1355062671
http://ugene.unipro.ru/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1369910696